9th door of the Rüdersdorf Advent calendar

History and stories about Rüdersdorf -

Anyone who answers the daily puzzle questions can take part in our competition . We wish everyone lots of fun and success.

A Rüdersdorf building

Like almost all of Rüdersdorf's sights, this one has to do with lime. Completed in 1956, the building was erected as a cultural centre for the local miners. This building is also a successful example of the centuries-old use of lime as a building material.
The interior of the now listed building has largely retained its original furnishings. On the ground floor, the building comprises an entrance hall, the vestibule and a large main hall that can accommodate up to 550 guests. This has a theatre stage and an orchestra podium. The other two floors now house the municipal library, meeting and circle rooms, the office for the local historian and another small hall that can accommodate up to 100 people.
The building is also affectionately known as the "Rüdersdorf Acropolis" due to its temple-like structure. Situated on a ridge next to the motorway, it has become a landmark visible from afar.

Question 9: Who was this Rüdersdorf landmark named after?

You can find more information about the competition on our website.

The Advent calendar was created with the support of the Rüdersdorfer Heimatverein e.V..

Source photo: © Maria Bosin / PIXELIO